Three Breaths

Musings on code, management, and life

Season of Ruby - Iteration 2 Retrospective

Posted at — Feb 6, 2012

Things are coming together well with the Season of Ruby.  Getting out of my comfort zone was a driving theme and there has been some discomfort, but I am now establishing a new comfort zone, familiarizing myself with a new language and new tools.  There is still a lot of work to do, but I am really pleased with how things are going.  And with that, on to the retrospective.

What Went Well

What Can Be Improved On

What Am I Going To Do To Improve Things

I still have some work on Ruby fundamentals, but I would like to get a simple Rails project under my belt to give me some context and also to start the long term thinking.  I was considering the Ruby on Rails Guides, but now think I will take a crack at Michael Hartl’s tutorial.  It seems a little richer and also seems to really focus on testing.

Iteration 3 Stories

“Stories” is a reach this iteration.  I am back into uncharted waters with Rails.  I don’t know what I don’t know yet.  Instead I will just put in at least 6 hours on  Michael Hartl’s tutorial

comments powered by Disqus